17 06 2015 Winners Mecanoo B15 Modelmaking Awards announced 1

Winners Mecanoo B.15 Modelmaking Awards announced

16.06.2015 - Events

Many months of hard work from the students at the Manchester School of Architecture were rewarded at the winners’ announcement of the Mecanoo B.15 Modelmaking Awards on Friday 12th June.

The jury, comprising of Professor Tom Jefferies, Dr Ray Lucas, model technicians Jim Backhouse and Scott Miller, and Patrick Arends and Ernst ter Horst from Mecanoo, marked the short-listed work in person on Friday afternoon.

From the outset it was clear this was going to be a difficult competition to win due to the high quality of the featured work. As final scoring was so close, the jury decided to restructure the prizes from one to three winners for BA (Hons).

Ernst ter Horst and Patrick Arends noted that they were “inspired by the exceptional level of quality throughout. It’s important to stress these winners were all on a knife edge with scoring.”

The winner of the MArch prize was of “outstanding quality and creativity delivering a fascinating model of beguiling interest!”

The winners are:

Overall BA (Hons) Winner – Paul Thornber
Highly Commended BA (Hons) 2nd Place – Sara Hammond
Highly Commended BA (Hons) 3rd Place – Thomas Smith
Winner of the MArch Prize – Hajir Alttahir

Individual descriptions of the winning projects written by the students can be found in the complete short list document available to view here.

More information

If you would like to discuss a press enquiry reach out to us at pr@mecanoo.nl