03 06 2016 Winners 2016 Mecanoo B.15 Modelmaking Awards announced 0

Winners 2016 Mecanoo B.15 Modelmaking Awards announced

13.06.2016 - Events

Final judging for the 2016 Mecanoo B.15 Modelmaking Awards took place on the afternoon of Friday June 10, ahead of the Manchester School of Architecture end of year show opening.

The winners were chosen by Dr. Ray Lucas, model technicians Jim Backhouse and Scott Miller, and four representatives from Mecanoo: modelmaker Laurens Kistemaker, architects Paul Daly and Oliver Boaler, along with former MSA student and previous award winner Sara Hammond. As with last year’s award, judging looked at the overall quality of the finished models, the effectiveness of their response to the brief and the integration of modelmaking into each students’ designing process. This proved once again to be tough and created a lengthy post-marking deliberation over the final results.

“I was pleasantly surprised by the efforts and quality of the students’ work, which therefore made it really hard for us to pick just six winners. With a judging team that consisted of equal parts modelmakers and architects, we covered both aspects of modelmaking: skills and representation of the brief. I hope that we as Mecanoo, together with Jim and Scott, have contributed to push the continued importance of modelmaking in architectural learning and practice,” said Laurens Kistemaker. Together with Professor Tom Jefferies, he presented the prizes to the winners.


  • Daniel Kempski & Peter Lee (1st Prize MArch)
  • Natalie Dosser & Diana Muresan (2nd Prize MArch)
  • Sam Beddingfield (3rd Prize MArch)
  • Ciara Tobin (1st Prize BA (Hons) Architecture)
  • Akhil Mathew (2nd Prize BA (Hons) Architecture)
  • Daniel Vella (3rd Prize BA (Hons) Architecture)

The shortlist and more information on the individual submissions can be viewed here.

If you would like to discuss a press enquiry reach out to us at pr@mecanoo.nl